Hello.

Welcome to the Student Bookshelf.

Some of you may know me from my eponymous political blog http://carolinemortimer.wordpress.com but this is a new venture into one of my more neglected passions; literature.

I plan for this to be a bimonthly blog with reviews of the books I’m reading,  news and my personal favourites from the world of the written word with a particularly student edge because contrary to popular belief; literary life doesn’t end with our course books.

I don’t have a great deal of time that I can devote to reading unfortunately with my History degree (and as my dissertation is on the influence of the First World War on the writings of the Bloomsbury Group you may find that a lot of my reviews are based on their works or the works of modernists) and my other journalistic commitments so it will probably be mostly news and my favourites.

In addition, you may have noticed from my political blog that I put it on hiatus every now and then. I will probably do that with this blog because although I’m committed to journalism etc, I have to put my degree first (it’s not like I’m paying three grand a year for it or anything).

This entry was published on July 14, 2011 at 7:27 pm. It’s filed under Introduction and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

